I remembered this blog a couple of weeks ago and thought, “Hmm, haven’t posted anything in a month or two.” Only after re-calculating that timeline in pandemic units, did I realise that over two years have passed since I’d written up the Mt Kinpu fiasco. Despite so much of life and adventure pausing during the pandemic, a lot has also changed.

The reason I haven’t written up any Japan hikes lately, is that I’m not living in Japan these days. Life, love, work, and general global chaos, has brought me back to a part of Asia where the tallest building is higher than the tallest mountain, and it snows only once about every 30,000 years. Unfortunately, those conditions don’t make for very interesting hiking write-ups.

I hope to be able to return to Japan for work from time to time, and continue the mountain madness while I’m there. But for now, I thought I’d wrap things up with a video featuring some of my favourite hiking moments in Japan. There have been plenty and it was hard to choose which to add here.

These scenes are the ones that really took my breath away and fueled the addiction for more: the grand, the intimate, the profoundly serene and the just plain, gob-smackingly stunning.

Til next time, may your adventures be happy, safe and life-changing for the better.

2 Comments

  1. Very nice. Enjoy your present country.

    Your snowpocalypse post probably saved my life. 🙂 If not my life, it at least saved me a lot of aggravation!

    Like

Leave a comment